Chair of Sound Engineering

The Chair of Sound Engineering was founded in 1961 (as Chair of Music Production). For many years it was headed by the co-founder of the Department of Sound Engineering Prof. Janusz Urbański. Then the function of the Head of the Chair was held by Prof. Jan Szmańda, Prof. Antoni Karużas, Prof. dr Halina Ciołkosz-Łupinowa, Prof. Krzysztof Grabowski, Prof. Nikodem Wołk-Łaniewski, and Prof. Andrzej Lupa.
The Chair of Sound Engineering supervises the teaching of main and major subjects for BA studies and for two specialties of MA studies: Music Production and Film and TV Sound Engineering.
The Chair’s artistic and academic activity focuses on problems connected with aesthetical topics related to auditive and audiovisual arts and technical problems in the production of recordings. Artistic work of the Chair’s employees covers music recordings and film sound production. Members of the Chair of Sound Engineering have won numerous valuable awards on festivals and competitions within this sector in Poland and abroad.
The Chair organises symposia, conferences and seminars devoted to aesthetical and technical topics in the field of auditive ad audiovisual arts. Apart from that, members of the Chair and students at the Department actively participate in annual international conferences of the Audio Engineering Society and are very successful there. Each year, students’ achievements are presented during concerts of the Chair (music recordings) and the “Film Sunday (film sound productions).

Members of the Chair
prof. dr hab. Krzysztof Kuraszkiewicz - Head of the Chair
prof. dr hab. Małgorzata Lewandowska
prof. dr hab. Andrzej Lupa
prof. dr hab. Joanna Napieralska
prof. dr hab. Witold Osiński
dr hab. Katarzyna Dzida-Hamela, prof. uczelni
dr hab. Krzysztof Jastrząb, prof. uczelni
dr hab. Ewa Lasocka, prof. uczelni
dr hab. Katarzyna Rakowiecka-Rojsza, prof. uczelni
dr hab. Jarosław Regulski, prof. uczelni
ad. dr Agata Chodyra
ad. dr Iwona Ejsmund
ad. dr Leszek Kamiński
ad. dr Wojciech Marzec
ad. dr Ewa Olejnik
ad. dr Jakub Stadnik
as. Michał Bereza
as. Maciej Brzeziński
as. Iga Kałduńska
as. Anna Stadniczeńko
as. Michał Szostakowski
as. Anna Żarnecka-Wójcik